Alcoyano score their winner
Alcoyano are the fifth third-tier side to knock Real out of the Copa del Rey this century

European giants Real Madrid were handed a humiliating Copa del Rey last-32 defeat by third division outfit Alcoyano – who were down to 10 men.

Zinedine Zidane’s side took the lead through defender Eder Militao but Jose Solbes took the tie to extra time.

Alcoyano – who play in Segunda Division B – had Ramon Lopez sent off for a second booking but earned a famous win when Juanan stole in at the near post.

“Crazy,” Juanan said. “If it was impossible with 11 – imagine with 10.”

Zidane has won three Champions League titles as a manager but is under pressure, with his side four points behind La Liga leaders Atletico Madrid – who have two games in hand.

Real are 19-time winners of the Copa del Rey, but have not lifted it for seven years and have only won it twice since 1993.

Incredibly, this is the fifth time a team from the third tier has eliminated them since 2001.

Real were without captain Sergio Ramos – who is out of contract this summer and could leave the club after 16 years – as Zidane made nine changes from the team who lost to Athletic Bilbao in the Super Cup.

But the team that finished against Alcoyano still contained Karim Benzema, Eden Hazard, Marcelo, Casemiro and Toni Kroos.

More to follow.



Formation 4-4-2

  • 1Figueras
  • 16Sánchez VarelaBooked at 32minsSubstituted forCerdá Vicenteat 60′minutes
  • 2FérrizBooked at 90mins
  • 5González Valls
  • 18CarbonellSubstituted forMoltoat 60′minutes
  • 14RubioSubstituted forLopez Olivanat 72′minutesBooked at 110mins
  • 6Ñíguez EsclapezSubstituted forDiakitéat 78′minutes
  • 8CasanovaBooked at 34mins
  • 21López
  • 12El GhezouaniSubstituted forAntonat 105′minutes
  • 9Mejía RuizSubstituted forSolbesat 60′minutes


  • 3Solbes
  • 7Cerdá Vicente
  • 11Lopez Olivan
  • 13Satoca
  • 15Camacho
  • 17Anton
  • 19Molto
  • 22Diakité
  • 23Revert

Real Madrid

Formation 4-3-3

  • 13LuninBooked at 116mins
  • 19OdriozolaBooked at 78minsSubstituted forE Hazardat 98′minutes
  • 3Militão
  • 32Chust
  • 12Marcelo
  • 15Valverde
  • 14Casemiro
  • 22IscoSubstituted forKroosat 98′minutes
  • 17Vázquez
  • 24MarianoBooked at 58minsSubstituted forBenzemaat 67′minutes
  • 20Vinícius JúniorSubstituted forAsensioat 90′minutes


  • 1Courtois
  • 7E Hazard
  • 8Kroos
  • 9Benzema
  • 11Asensio
  • 23Mendy
  • 26Altube
  • 31Blanco

José María Sánchez Martínez

Match Stats